top of page

My experience as an LGBTQ student


When I first came to McMaster University in fall 2016, I wasn’t really myself. I knew who I was, but I most certainly didn’t act like it. In September of 2016 I entered into first year engineering at McMaster University. I was a gay male in what appeared to be a very masculine and heteronormative program, and at first I was afraid. I was afraid of what others would think, whether or not they’d be accepting, and whether or not I’d be able to actually be myself openly. Then I asked myself why I was afraid and realized I didn't quite have a good answer. Then I noticed that McMaster has LGBTQ advocacy groups. That was my wake up call. These groups, like the QSCC and within engineering itself, the McMaster EngiQueers, offer support services for students across campus and host events where LGBTQ students and their supporters can be open in front of everyone. It was the knowledge about these organizations and how they came to exist through the efforts of fellow students that gave me the courage to come out. After I did, I received overwhelming support from my friends and peers at the university. That’s when I realized everyone here is exceptionally supporting and that there is no reason to be anything but the person you are. There is no reason to hide, and today I can be myself. Myself in its entirety. This can be you one day. When you're ready, we're here to welcome you with open arms. Welcome to McMaster. Welcome to Mac Eng. Welcome home.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page